Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Logan USD 326


Ajax Loading Image


Story image 1_0

LHS celebrates CTE month

February was CTE Month!


What is CTE?  Career and technical education (CTE) prepares both youth and adults for a wide range of careers and further educational opportunities. These careers may require varying levels of education—including industry-recognized credentials, postsecondary certificates, and two- and four-year degrees.  CTE is offered in middle schools, high schools, area career and technical centers, community and technical colleges, and other postsecondary institutions.  CTE is at the forefront of preparing students to be “college- and career-ready.” CTE equips students with: core academic skills and the ability to apply those skills to concrete situations in order to function in the workplace and in routine daily activities; employability skills (such as critical thinking and responsibility) that are essential in any career area; and job-specific, technical skills related to a specific career pathway.  

At Logan High School there are five CTE Career Pathways taught by three teachers.  Shannon Kats teaches classes within the Web & Digital Communication pathway.  Janet Gottstine teaches classes within the Power, Structural, & Technical Systems pathway and the Comprehensive Agriculture Science pathway.  Becky Jones teaches the classes within the Family & Community Services pathway and the Early Childhood Development Services pathway.  CTE pathways require advisory committees.  

The purpose of the Advisory Committee for a CTE pathway is to provide a business and industry voice to advocate and provide recommendations for continuous improvement for CTE pathways to the instructor, school administration, and school board members.  Advisory Committees meet at least twice a year and are fundamental in the establishment of the pathway and its improvement plan.  The CTE instructors at Logan High School would like to take this time to thank the various business and industry members of their committees for all the time they invest.  Members of the Web & Digital Communication pathway are Anna Graham, Allyson Pakkebier, & Rob Pinkerton.  Power, Structural, & Technical Systems pathway and Comprehensive Agriculture Science pathway committee members are Daniel Ruff, Richard Ruff, Leland Rundle, Cody Miller, Art Henrickson, Tim Van Laeys, & Dave Alexander.  Members of the Family & Community Services and Early Childhood Development Services pathways are Kristi Van Der Veen, Lisa Uhland, Rhonda Plummer, Lou Plummer, Jaime Noone, and Savannah Goscha.